Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation
Through team-based shooting tournaments, student athletes learn skills and life lessons that emphasize positive character and citizenship. Safety, teamwork and leadership are the core of training and competition. The foundation’s Scholastic Clay Target Program promotes trap, skeet and sporting clays and several Olympic disciplines. As the official feeder program of the USA Shooting program, SSSF is a path to the U.S. Olympic Shooting Team.

For information about the Ohio Scholastic Clay Target Program, email OSTA Youth Chairman Rob Kinsella

More Information About the National Scholastic Clay Target Program
Start a Youth Trapshooting Team

To pick up a trophy, please contact our Youth Director, Rob Kinsella 419-560-4677


Centerburg Team

After the SCTP competition, the young shooters pick up door prizes from the generous sponsors.

Cole Slabough was the 2023 recipient of the Sue Kaufman Award. It is presented annually to the Ohio SCTP “Top Gun” of the Ohio State Shoot. Congratulations!


Andi sits with Moxi as they wait for her brother, Brady Johnson who will shoot for Buckeye. 

This year there was another increase in attendance as 640 young shooters met at Cardinal Shooting Center for the annual State competition. The name of the event has been changed to the DAVE SCHOCK SCTP DAY in honor of the Ohio State Youth Director who passed away on April 20, 2022.

Ian Counts and Gage Price do some puppy sitting before they take the line.


Trophy results:

Rookie- Moulton Gun Club – 756
Intermediate – Chippewa Trap Club – 868
Intermediate Advanced- Centerburg – 890
Junior Varsity- Chippewa Trap Club – 930
Senior Varsity- Centerburg – 955
Sue Kaufman Trophy- Ryan Denes- 200 straight

On Monday morning of the State Tournament, the SCTP teams parade to the central entry building for introductions.

After the introductions, the teams are anxious to get to their assigned traps and begin their day of competition.

Parents, coaches and spectators gather along the trap line to watch the kids. Many of the teams have tents and tailgate picnics set up behind the trapline so they have a place to rest and eat between events.

The Centerburg shooters are all smiles as they enjoy cooling off with some delicious Velvet Ice Cream. The annual ice cream social is a tradition provided by the Ohio State Trapshooting Foundation.

VELVET ICE CREAM was the ice cream of choice this year for the Monday SCTP event. Strawberry appeared to be this year’s favorite but chocolate and vanilla were available as well and there was plenty to go around!

Senior Jake Shutt was the lucky winner of the Storm Shooting coat donated by DK Sales for the Monday SCTP State competition. Jake was one of the original members of the Zoar Road Gun Club youth shooting team. He was well respected by his team members and will be missed as he has “aged out” of the youth program. Jake is a wonderful example of the quality youth shooter our SCTP program is working so hard to produce. Congratulations


1994 Hall of Fame Inductee, Laura Mote Christopher, enjoys the OSTA sundae bar after the SCTP competition.


Centerburg- 5th – 870
Moulton – 6th – 868
North Lawrence -10th- 858

JUNIOR VARSITY DIVISION:957 was the high score
Buckeye Chippewa 2nd – 948

VARSITY DIVISION: 983 was the high score
Buckeye Chippewa- 6th- 970

The Intermediate Entry Level winning team from Moulton Gun Club

ALL-OHIO SCTP TEAM -Tanner Harrison- 194 Gunner Hall – 195 Rees Holmes- 184
Rees Palumbo -196 William Browning -196 965 Total 8th Place

KY had 982

New teams for 2019- Gallia Co.,Zoar Rd.Gun Club,Lake Co., NE Ohio Collegiate trap club

SCTP College Nationals- October 26,27,28 at the Cardinal Center

The ALL-OHIO SCTP TEAM represented by members Gunner Hall, Tanner Hart and William Browning ,(left to right)


MOULTON YOUTH SHOOTERS: Braydon Hoehn, Kole Kuenning, Seth Finke, Jordan Landin and Corbin Suchland


SCTP Team relaxes with a few games of corn hole.

One of the competing SCTP teams makes a stop at the Hall of Fame Museum.

The Chippewa Team gets ready to take the  line.

To access SCTP National results go to

2017 Ohio State Shoot – SCTP Highlights:

This year, we had 403 shooters- 88 squads-25 total teams- 20 from Ohio, 2 from PA. and 3 from KY Justin Carson broke the only 200 straight. He was the Sue Kaufman Award winner.

Gunner Hall from Madison County, Jason Schieve from Claybusters, Evan Barr from Moulton, Seth Simonson from Greene County and Summer Gobrecht from Hancock County are on the Ohio SCTP All-State Team and will represent Ohio at the SCTP Nationals in Marengo.
They will compete against all other State teams.

Rookie Division Winner – Moulton with 394 x 500 Runner Up – North Lawrence with 377 x 500 Third – Centerburg with 312 x 500

Intermediate Division Winner – Centerburg with 934 x 1000 Runner Up – Chippewa with 849 x 1000 Third – Moulton with 752 x 1000

Intermediate Advanced Division Winner – Chippewa with 890 x 1000 Runner Up – Moulton with 883 x 1000 Third – Hancock County with 880 x 1000

Junior Varsity Division Winner – Chippewa with 916 x 1000 Runner Up – Centerburg with 903 x 1000 Third – Central Ohio with 874 x 1000

Varsity Division Winner – Chippewa with 971 x 1000 Runner Up Greene County with 968 x 1000 Third – Claybusters with 949 x 1000

Collegiate Winners – Justin Carson with 200 x 200 Runner Up – Elizabeth Ternes with 195 x 200 Third – Chris Arnold with 194 x 200